Our parish is a vibrant community of the Catholic faithful under the patronage of St. Alponsus Mary de Liguori within the Archdiocese of Manila. It is located at Magallanes Village and is also comprised by Magallanes Village, Paseo de Magallanes, Galeria de Magallanes and Ecology Village.

August 2017 to August 2018 marks the 50th Jubilee year of St. Alphonsus Mary de Liguori Parish. The parish is declared by the Vatican as a Jubilee Church. Its Holy Door was blessed by the Archbishop of Manila, His Eminence Luis Antonio Cardinal Tagle, D.D.

The parish provides for the spiritual and pastoral needs of the members of the various communities. In addition to the sacred space for worship, the parish church has venues for seminars or birthday, baptismal and wedding receptions. We also have a columbarium where the ash remains of a beloved departed may be laid to rest. Funeral chapels are also available for families who have lost their loved ones. The parish church is blessed to have a Garden Stations of the Cross whose are pieces were made my various National and renowned Filipino artists.

With the decree issued by the former Archbishop of Manila Rufino J. Cardinal Santos, D.D., St. Alphonsus was erected as a parish on August 2, 1967. The blessing and laying on of the corner stone took place at the same date. The first church building was constructed in 1986 designed by National Artist for Architecture Leandro Locsin. After its completion, the first mass was celebrated in 1969. Two years later, Msgr. Ferdinand Mempin was appointed as the first Parish Priest.

In 2004, the Church got burned. A “bahay kubo” served as the parish’s temporary church for three years. The rebuilding of the new church started in 2005 designed by Architect Dominic Galicia. It was solemnly dedicated in 2007 by His Eminence Gaudencio Cardinal Rosales, D.D., then Archbishop of Manila after its completion.


A people called by the Father in Jesus Christ to become a Community of Persons with Fullness of Life witnessing the Kingdom of God by living the Paschal Mystery in the power of the Holy Spirit with Mary as Companion.


To become a truly Christian Community of Disciples and a Church of the Poor by witnessing like Mary through Renewed Integral Evangelization to communicate Christ to the St. Alphonsus Mary de Liguori Parish and our world of neighbors.


Our parish finds its origins rather simply—much like the mustard seed in the Gospels of Matthew and Luke, as it is testimony to the parable’s theme of the Kingdom of Heaven growing from small beginnings. St. Alphonsus Mary de Liguori Parish began very quietly in a tuklong, born from an idea by Corazon Arcenas shared with Lita L. Recto, Letty R. Laurel and Lil Dominguez. The enthusiastic group of ladies, together with Senator and Mrs. Jose Diokno, Colonel Antonio Henson, Mike Recto, Tony Katigbak and Quentin Doromal, appealed to residents of Magallanes Village as well as the non-resident lot owners to support the many fund-raising activities undertaken.

Our parish would not be the vibrant parish that it is today without the many leaders we have had and continue to have …truly leaders who are ablaze for God.



Ayala y Compania donated a 5,616 sq.m. lot at Humabon Place to the Roman Catholic Archbishop of Manila, His Rufino Cardinal Eminence Santos.


St. Alphonsus Mary de Liguori approved by His Eminence Rufino Cardinal Santos as principal patron of the proposed parish with Our Lady of Mt. Carmel and St. James the Apostle as secondary patrons.

August 2

Laying and blessing of the cornerstone for the parish at Humabon Place, Magallanes Village, together with a Decree of Erection.


Construction of church designed by National Artist for Architecture Leandro Locsin starts.


Celebration of first mass.


March 3

Msgr. Ferdinand Mempin assigned  as first parish priest November – Completion of Maricaban Creek


April 15

Portions of the Magallanes Parish, North Forbes, Old Forbes and the Dasmarinas east of Pasay Road, plus Urdaneta Village


March 31

Founding of the CWL. Funeral chapel at the back of the church opened


April 15

Rev. Fr. Nico Bautista, then Rector and pastor of the Sacred Heart Parish in San Antonio Village, Makati assigned to succeed Msgr. Mempin who resigned for health reasons


The Papal Nuncio led the concelebrated Mass for the Crystal Jubilee celebration of our parish and handed out the Alphonsonian Awards to Msgr. F. Mempin, the Ayala Corporation, Corazon Arcenas, Carmen Diokno, the CWL and Daniel Sevilla, the Sacristan Mayor


Blessing of the Parish Center


Adoration Chapel and the Baptistry blessed by His Eminence Jaime Cardinal Sin.


March 24

Blessing of the Garden Way of the Cross by Bishop Crisostomo Yalung, featuring the original works by the country’s foremost sculptor-artists. Overall design by National Artist Ildefonso P. Santos.

Blessing of the carillon tower donated by 18 sponsors.


Church burned

November 28

Blessing of Rectory


Groundbreaking to mark the start of the new church designed by Architect Dominic Galicia.


Solemn Dedication of present church by His Eminence Gaudencio Cardinal Rosales, D.D.


September 26

Church, parish office and Adoration Chapel damaged by Typhoon Ondoy.


October 24

Blessing of Adoration Chapel and Baptistry designed by Architect Franco Vicente.


As parish priest, Rev. Fr. Isidro T. Marinay initiated the Scholarship Program for Don Bosco in December 2011.


Propagated the Neo-Catechumenal Way and strengthened the Family and Life Ministry. Parish library opened.


The tabernacle, the big crucifix and the Holy Spirit were added to the main altar together with the embellishment of the wooden frames of the statues of Our Lady of Mt. Carmel and St. Alphonsus Mary de Liguori.


Present Msgr. Claro Matt Garcia reorganized the Parish Pastoral Council, revived BEC (Basic Ecclesial Community), re-focused on Education and Social Services Ministries.


Simbang Gabi Street Mass at San Felipe Park, first BEC street mass.


St Alphonsus Mary de Liguori Parish is declared by the Vatican as a Jubilee Church from August 1, 2017-August 1, 2018. The Porta Sancta (Holy Door) was blessed by His Eminence Luis Cardinal Antonio Tagle.



Parish Finance Council (PFC)

The Parish Finance Council is established in every parish to aid the parish priest in the administration of parish goods (Canon 537). They assist in safeguarding the resources of the parish, find ways and means to sustain the parish programs and maintain/develop parish properties being responsible stewards of the church.

Parish Pastoral Council (PPC)

The PPC officers, ministers and Parish Finance Head , under the leadership of the parish priest, constitute the Parish Pastoral Council Board. A vital component of the parish, it promotes spiritual leadership and growth and is a venue for effective clergy and laity collaboration. It also has a consultative vote and is governed by the norms of the Archbishop of Manila.

Parish Pastoral Council Board

The PPC Board is headed by the Parish Priest and is composed of the Parochial Vicar, PPC Officers, Ministers, BEC Coordinator & the Parish Finance Council Head. Only Catholics of proven faith, good morals and outstanding prudence are to be appointed in the PPC (Canon 512). They meet monthly to tackle concerns and approve parish schedules and programs.

Organizational Chart